top of page

Shikee's Story


I adopted Shikee from the Humane Society of Utah on March 1st, 2007. She was about four years old at the time. The most striking thing about her was not the fact that she was missing an eye, or that she was a unusual breed... it was her very sweet and unique "meowrf". Shikee is indeed a very vocal cat, and communicates very well! She has been nothing but a sweetheart, and even has earned the nickname of "Sweet Sheeks"... There have been a lot of life changes over the years, and from time to time I wondered who actually rescued who. It wasn't too long after I adopted here that the economy soured into the what's known as the Great Recession. There has been different homes, different animals in those homes to get along with, out-of-state moves, and a few times the struggle to stay afloat was almost too hard to bear. She was there for me, and I was there for her, and somehow we made it through. Shikee is about twelve years old now. We currently live in Oregon where I work hands on with other shelter animals and every time I come home she has the same "meowrf" and "head boop" greeting for me. It's been a long, hard road, and I wouldn't change a minute of it! Moral of the story: Don't overlook the older and special needs pets you see up for adoption in the shelter... they may be the best friend you ever had!

-- Wolf

bottom of page